My first PAID JERB! Pt. 1 of 3

Ok, about the multi-part posts, all I can say is that…

I have TLDR fear.

What is that? “Too Long, Didn’t Read.” It’s a very rational, very substantial fear I have of writing a long entry or post and someone skipping the entire thing because it was too long to care to read through. Okay, whatever, it’s a geeky forum posting  thing, I guess… my nerd is showing, I apologize  -____-

NEWAYZZZ……..

Recently, I was asked by a friend of mine from high-school to make cupcakes for her son’s birthday party. Now, I generally don’t like to get paid to make cupcakes because:

a) I do it because I love it, not because I want it snowballing into a business, and,
b) The last and only other time someone asked me to cater cupcakes for their child’s birthday party, they cancelled a week after we had agreed on everything, and I had already bought the supplies for it, and ended up being out about $40+ bucks.

But I decided she was good for it, so I agreed.

She wanted 50 cupcakes in 3 different flavors: Vanilla Funfetti, Cherry Almond Vanilla, and White Russian. I knew it would be tough, considering I had never made that many cupcakes at one time, much less split up into 3 different flavors. To make things that much more difficult, I was going to have to travel 4 hours home to cater the cupcakes, so there was definitely some planning to be done ahead of time. I knew I had to start strategizing how I was going to do everything in time for the party, but not too far in advance. About 4 or 5 days beforehand, I divided all of the dry ingredients for each recipe into bags and labeled them according to their recipe. The party was on Sunday, so on Friday night I made the vanilla cakes (only the cake, not the frosting), then spent all day on Saturday baking the other 2 cake flavors and all of the frostings.

Here are the respective recipe walk-throughs:

Vanilla Funfetti

I chose this classic cupcake for several reasons. Primarily, I mentioned in one of my very first posts that this vanilla cupcake recipe is my very favorite. It’s rich, sweet, and seriously hard to eff up.

Secondly, it’s “clean.” Originally, I had suggested doing both a vanilla/vanilla and a yellow cake/chocolate icing flavor, however, my friend, thinking ahead with her motherly instincts, nixed that due to the visions of children, parents and the museum they would be celebrating at, covered completely in chocolate frosting. This kind of oversight is precisely why I am not a mom. So we just stuck with plain vanilla for the kids.

Lastly, it’s really easy to amp it up to kid-status. I added multi-colored jimmies to the batter for the carefree, colorful whimsy that is the “funfetti” cupcake.

Leave a Reply

