Thanksgiving Pecan Pie Cupcakes

I’m not really a fan of pumpkin pie. The gloppy, sticky texture is weird to me, and it’s not even all that sweet. I’m a pecan pie woman, and to my knowledge, I’ve never met a pecan pie I didn’t like. I know pecan pie also has that gloppy glaze in it too, but its chocked full of pecans to fill in the missing crunchy element for me that is lacking in a pumpkin pie.

This Thanksgiving I wanted to try out a cupcake that paid homage to my favorite pie. It was breaking tradition a bit, so I wanted to also make something that didn’t necessarily make people miss the actual pie itself.

I wanted the cupcake to have a “filled” quality to it, and most of the recipes I found were a brown sugar cake with a brown butter-ish frosting. That just screams WAYTOOSWEET to me… and if you’ve experienced the sweetness level of some of my stuff, that is saying something. The best recipe I went with had a brown sugar based cake with a chocolate bourbon pecan “curd” (I use quotes because it wasn’t as thick as a curd, but thicker than a sauce). In contrast to the other recipes that piled on an additional sickeningly sweet frosting, this version keeps it simple and tops it with the only acceptable pecan pie-anything topping…. homemade whipped cream. After making this whipped cream, I basically want to put it on any and every thing I eat.  It’s super light and fluffy and just a hint of sweetness. Not to mention really easy.

Note: As I write this, it’s been a good 3-4 weeks since I made these, but I seem to recall having an over-abundance of whipped cream left over after frosting all the cakes. Perhaps I might suggest to only use 1/4-1/3 of a cup of heavy cream, rather a whole half of a cup and then having to waste it, as it doesn’t keep well for more than a day or so. You can always make more 🙂

Mmkay, enough yapping, here’s how it turned out:

Leave a Reply

